Loraine James 'Gentle Confrontation' CD (pre-order 22nd Sep)

  • €16,95
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

‘Gentle Confrontation’, Loraine James's third Hyperdub album, opens a new chapter of her real and sonic life in which she examines her past and present. It's a positively languid, enjoyably disjointed set made while listening to her teenage favourites; math rock and emo-electronic such as DNTEL, Lusine and Telefon Tel Aviv. The album also features an ever more diverse set of peers, placing them in her unusual musical settings and drawing out sensitive and reflexive performances. At other times the album stretches out into a drifting ambience as if seeking a sense of bliss in the everyday. ‘Gentle Confrontation’ is about relationships (especially familial), understanding, and giving back a little grace and care, while the tone of the record criss-crosses watery ambience with denatured rhythm and asmr beats. These 16 tracks are Loraine's best work yet, and a personal and musical leap forward, delivering a totally unique vision of electronic pop music.


A1. Gentle Confrontation  
A2. 2003  
A3. Let U Go ft. keiyaA  
A4. Déjà Vu ft. RiTchie  

B1. Prelude of Tired of Me  
B2. Glitch The System (Glitch Bitch 2)  
B3. I DM U  
B4. One Way Ticket To The Midwest (Emo) ft. Corey Mastrangelo  

C1. Cards With The Grandparents  
C2. While They Were Singing ft. Marina Herlop  
C3. Try For Me ft. Eden Samara  
C4. Tired Of Me  

D1. Speechless ft. George Riley  
D2. Disjointed (Feeling Like A Kid Again)  
D3. I’m Trying To Love Myself  
D4. Saying Goodbye ft. Contour